Artist Management and Administration of Concert Events

BRUNO BORRALHINHO

Conductor

Portuguese cellist and conductor Bruno Borralhinho is a member of the Dresden Philharmonic Orchestra and Artistic Director of the Ensemble Mediterrain.

The diversified artistic activity of Bruno Borralhinho includes orchestral conducting, in which he received important impulses through Christian Kluttig, Jorma Panula and Juanjo Mena. Along with regular appearences leading his Ensemble Mediterain (DE), he conducted the Orquestra Sinfónica Portuguesa (PT), the Orquestra Clássica do Sul (PT), the Orquestra Clássica do Centro (PT), the Orquestra Clássica da Madeira (PT), the Orquestra de Câmara Portuguesa (PT), the Filharmonie Bohuslava Martinu (CZ), the Orquestra Sinfônica do Paraná (BR), the Orquestra Sinfônica de Campinas (BR), the Deutsches Kammerorchester Berlin (DE), the Berliner Symphoniker (DE) and the Dresdner Philharmonie (DE), and worked along with internationally renowned soloists such as Camilla Nylund, Tara Erraught, Lothar Odinius, Peter Bruns and Javier Perianes.

In 2009 he launches the CD Página Esquecida (Forgotten Page) with pianist Luísa Tender, completely dedicated to Portuguese music. This production has received the best reviews in the national and international press. In 2016, his next recording dedicated to Portuguese music appeared on NAXOS, this time for cello and orchestra accompanied by the Gulbenkian Orchestra conducted by Pedro Neves. This album was considered the best of 2016 by voters from over 65 countries across the 5 continents of the planet after an international public vote promoted by The Violoncello Foundation (New York / USA). More recently, in 2018, Borralhinho recorded R. Strauss and Zemlinsky's sonatas and Mahler's songs with pianist Christoph Berner for the German record label ARS.

He was born in 1982 in Covilhã and began his music studies at the age of 12 years old in his hometown, where he studied with prof. Luis Sá Pessoa. Between 2000-2006, he studied with prof. Markus Nyikos at the Universität der Künste in Berlin, concluding the Graduate and Postgraduate studies with the highest distinctions. Afterwards, he also studied with the prestigious Norwegian cellist Truls Mørk. He attended several Masterclasses with Natalia Gutman, Antonio Meneses, Pieter Wispelwey, Anner Bylsma, Jian Wang, Martin Ostertag, Martin Löhr, Márcio Carneiro and Thomas Demenga, among others.

Borralhinho holds a Master's Degree in Culture Management from the UOC - Universitat Oberta de Catalunya (Barcelona). In October 2011 he was one of the participants of the Atelier for Young Festival Managers in Izmir (Turkey), organized by the EFA - European Festivals Association). Bruno Borralhinho received his PhD in Humanities - History, Geography and Art - from the Universidad Carlos III (Madrid) in 2020. His research and thesis focused on the relations between power and the field of classical music in Portugal throughout the 20th century.

He won the 1. Prize in the competitions Julio Cardona (1999) and Prémio Jovens Músicos (2001), this last organized by RDP (Portuguese National Radio). As a soloist, he performed with the Gulbenkian Orchestra Lisbon (PT), Orquestra Sinfónica Portuguesa (PT), Orquestra do Norte (PT), Orquestra Clássica da Madeira (PT), Orquestra XXI (PT), Orquestra Clássica do Sul (PT), Orquestra de Câmara Portuguesa (PT), Orquestra Metropolitana de Lisboa (PT), Orquestra Sinfônica de Campinas (BR) and Orquestra Sinfônica do Teatro Nacional Cláudio Santoro de Brasília (BR).

Bruno Borralhinho has been a member of the Gustav Mahler Youth Orchestra and Solo-Cellist of the Jeunesses Musicales World Orchestra. He was also a member of the Academy of the Staatskapelle Berlin, resident orchestra of the Berlin State Opera, and of the DSO - Deutsches Symphonie Orchester Berlin.

During all these years he performed in leading concert halls throughout all Europe, Asia, USA, Canada, Russia and South America and worked with important conductors such as Claudio Abbado, Daniel Barenboim, Kurt Masur, Kent Nagano, Franz Welser-Möst, Herbert Blomstedt, Christoph Eschenbach, Paavo Järvi or Andris Nelsons.

Bruno Borralhinho

Artist Management and Administration of Concert Events

BRUNO BORRALHINHO

Dirigent

Der portugiesische Cellist und Dirigent Bruno Borralhinho ist Mitglied der Dresdner Philharmonie und Künstlerischer Leiter des Ensemble Mediterrain.

Die vielfältige künstlerische Tätigkeit von Bruno Borralhinho umfasst auch die Orchesterleitung wobei er wichtige Impulse von Christian Kluttig, Jorma Panula und Juanjo Mena erhielt. Neben häufige Auftritte als Dirigent mit seinem Ensemble Mediterrain (DE), leitete er außerdem das Orquestra Sinfónica Portuguesa (PT), das Orquestra Clássica do Sul (PT), das Orquestra Clássica do Centro (PT), das Orquestra Clássica da Madeira (PT), das Orquestra de Câmara Portuguesa (PT), die Filharmonie Bohuslava Martinu (CZ), das Orquestra Sinfônica do Paraná (BR), das Orquestra Sinfônica de Campinas (BR), das Deutsche Kammerorchester Berlin (DE), die Berliner Symphonikern (DE) und die Dresdner Philharmonie (DE) und arbeitete mit renommierten Solisten wie Camilla Nylund, Tara Erraught, Lothar Odinius, Peter Bruns oder Javier Perianes zusammen.

2009 veröffentlicht Bruno Borralhinho mit der Pianistin Luísa Tender die ganz den portugiesischen Musik gewidmete Doppel-CD "Pagina Esquecida" (Vergessene Seite). Diese Produktion erhielt begeisterte Kritiken in der nationale und internationalen Presse. 2016 ist bei NAXOS die neue CD erschienen, diesmal den portugiesischen Musik für Cello und Orchester gewidmet. Bruno Borralhinho wird vom Gulbenkian Orchester Lissabon unter der Leitung von Pedro Neves begleitet. Dieses Album wurde von Wählern aus über 65 Ländern auf den 5 Kontinenten des Planeten nach einer von der The Violoncello Foundation (New York/USA) geförderten internationalen öffentlichen Abstimmung als das beste des Jahres 2016 eingestuft. Im Jahr 2018 nahm Borralhinho mit dem Pianisten Christoph Berner die Sonaten von R. Strauss und Zemlinsky sowie Mahlers Lieder für das deutsche Plattenlabel ARS auf.

Er wurde 1982 geboren und begann seine musikalische Ausbildung im Alter von 12 Jahren bei Prof. Luis Sá Pessoa. 2000-2006 hat er an der Universität der Künste Berlin in der Klasse von Prof. Markus Nyikos studiert, wo ihm 2004 das "Künstlerische Diplom" und 2006 das "Konzertexamen" mit Auszeichnung verliehen wurden. Danach studiert Bruno Borralhinho in Oslo mit dem renommierten Cellisten Truls Mørk. Er besuchte auch Meisterkurse u.a. bei Natalia Gutman, Antonio Meneses, Pieter Wispelwey, Anner Bylsma, Jian Wang, Martin Ostertag, Martin Löhr, Márcio Carneiro und Thomas Demenga.

Außerdem erlangte 2011 einen Master in Kulturmanagement im UOC - Universitat Oberta de Catalunya (Barcelona). Im Oktober 2011 war er einer der Gäste des vom EFA - European Festivals Association organisierten Ateliers for Young Festival Managers in Izmir (Türkei). Bruno Borralhinho hat 2020 an der Universität Carlos III (Madrid) in Geisteswissenschaften -Geschichte, Geografie und Kunst- promoviert. Seine Forschung und These beschäftigten sich mit den Beziehungen zwischen Macht und dem Gebiet der klassischen Musik in Portugal während des gesamten 20. Jahrhunderts.

Während seines Studiums erhielt er den 1. Preis im Concurso Júlio Cardona und auch den 1. Preis im Prémio Jovens Músicos. Als Solist spielte er mit dem Gulbenkian Orchester, Orquestra Sinfónica Portuguesa, Orquestra Clássica do Centro, Orquestra do Norte, Orquestra Clássica do Sul, Orquestra XXI, Orquestra da Madeira, Orquestra de Câmara Portuguesa, Orquestra Metropolitana de Lisboa, Orquestra Sinfônica de Campinas und Orquestra Sinfônica do Teatro Nacional de Brasília.

Borralhinho war Mitglied des Gustav Mahler Jugendorchesters und Solocellist im Jeunesses Musicales Weltjugendorchester. Er war auch 2003 Praktikant im DSO - Deutsches Symphonie Orchester Berlin und 2004-2006 Mitglied der Orchester-Akademie der Staatskapelle Berlin.

Bruno Borralhinho hat in den führenden Konzertsäalen Europas sowie in den USA, Kanada, Asien, Russland und Südamerika mit berühmten Dirigenten wie Claudio Abbado, Daniel Barenboim, Franz Welser-Möst, Kurt Masur, Kent Nagano, Herbert Blomstedt, Paavo Järvi, Christoph Eschenbach oder Andris Nelsons gespielt.

Bruno Borralhinho