Artist Management and Administration of Concert Events

GUILLERMO MARTÍNEZ VEGA

Composer

The music of GUILLERMO MARTÍNEZ VEGA (Spain) has been performed in the United States, Russia, Cuba, Austria, the UK, Germany, Italy, France, Sweden, Switzerland, Hungary, Lithuania, Ukraine, Morocco and Spain.

Among the interpreters of his works figure Horacio Lavandera, María José Montiel, Iván Martín, Joshard Daus, Agata Daraskaite, Lola Casariego, Luis Miguel Méndez, Lucas Macías, Natalia Troshina, Valeria Zorina, Manuel Burgueras, Aurelio Viribay,... In addition, other interpreters of his works include instituciones such as EuropaChorAkademie, St. Christopher Chamber Orchestra, Choir and Orchestra of the Opera of Kiev, Harper Symphony Orchestra, Giusto Chamber Orchestra, Orquesta Oviedo Filarmonía, Orquesta Ars Mundi, JOSPA –Joven Orquesta del Principado de Asturias–, Janus Orchestra, Cuarteto Vocal Español –del Coro de RTVE–, Cuarteto Vocal Cavatina, Psappha Ensemble, Quatuor Danel, Khorikos – NY, Banda de Música “Ciudad de Oviedo”, Coro El León de Oro, Landarbaso Koroa, Ad Solem Chamber Ensemble, Coro de la Fundación “Princesa de Asturias”, Coro “Ángel Barja”, Escolanía de Covadonga, Camerata Coral de la Universidad de Cantabria, Coro Universitario de Oviedo, etc. Ultimately, he has created music for original texts by Graciano García, José Antonio Olivar, María Teresa Álvarez, Maxi Rodríguez and Xuan Bello among others.

In 2012, Martinez wins the «1st National Competition of Young Composers - Town of Oviedo». The winning piece, Rapsodia para violín y orquesta “Der Wanderer über dem Nebelmeer”, was premiered by the violinist Gerard Claret in 2014. Likewise, the work is published by Durand, Slabert, Eschig and Ricordi (Universal Music).

Among his most recent premieres, a highlight was the presentation of his Zarzuela “Maharajá” work, commissioned and premiered in the commemoration ceremony for the 125th anniversary of the Teatro Campoamor – Oviedo (Spain). This lyric-dramatic work, with libretto by Maxi Rodríguez, is written in one act and has an approximate duration of 100 minutes. The premiere took place in the Teatro Campoamor of Oviedo in June, 2017. The Zarzuela “Maharajá” was premiered by the soprano Beatríz Díaz, the baritone David Menéndez, the mezzo María José Suárez, the tenors Francisco Javier Sánchez and Juan Noval Moro, the actress Martina Bueno, the actors Win Marrot, Roca Suárez, Carlos Mesa and Antón Camaño, the choir “Capilla Polifónica – Ciudad de Oviedo” and the orchestra “Oviedo Filarmonía”, all of them under baton the maestro Marzio Conti.

Martínez studied organ and composition at the Conservatorio Superior de Música “Eduardo Mtez. Torner” of Oviedo (Spain) with the masters Antonio Corveiras and Victor Leoncio Diéguez, respectively. Later, he earned a Master of Music degree in composition with distinction at the University of Manchester in the class of Dr. Richard Whalley (2010). He has participated as a guest student in the master class in composition at the Northern Royal College of Music (2011), under the composer Brian Ferneyhough. Martínez was also invited to the master class in composition and music education as offered by Alberto Grau and Maria Guinand (Venezuela’s “El Sistema”) in the Bremer Hochschule, Germany (2010).

Alongside his career as a composer, Martínez has developed an active career as organist and cantor. He is a member of EuropaChorAkademie since 2000, a group that performs on the principal venues of the U.S., China, and Europe, under the baton of figures like Michael Gielen, Krzysztof Penderecki, Sylvain Cambreling, Vladimir Ashkenazy, Vladimir Jurowski, and Placido Domingo. In addition to this, as a member of the Coro El León de Oro he has won two national Gran Prixes (2003, 2006), among many other national and international awards.

Martínez is the organist of the Cathedral of Oviedo, giving numerous concerts in Europe and collaborating with several orchestras (including a CD for Warner Classics of Saint-Saëns’ Symphony The Organ). As an organist, he has participated in courses with the masters Andrés Cea and Jean Claude Zendher.

In 2009, Martínez was awarded with the scholarship Cajastur for Artists in support of his Masters in composition. In 2011, he was awarded the Premios de la Crítica TPA as the best composer of the year for his fantasia for soprano and orchestra, “Monumentum pro mathematica.” This work was commissioned, premiered, and recorded by the Real Sociedad Matemática Española for the occasion of the 100-year anniversary of the institution. In 2012, Martínez won the First National Competition of Young Composers in the City of Oviedo for his piece “Der wanderer Über dem Nebelmeer.” His choral work “No llores, paloma mía” was awarded a prize in the 2014 Ortus International New Music Competition, New York. Lastly, the composer is a member of the Honorary Advisory Board of the International Institute for Music Education of Hong Kong since 2015.

Guillermo Martínez has numerous publications, including notated music, as well as CD and DVD material. His work has been broadcast on radio and TV throughout the Americas and Europe.

Guillermo Martínez Vega

Artist Management and Administration of Concert Events

GUILLERMO MARTÍNEZ VEGA

Komponist

Die Musik von GUILLERMO MARTÍNEZ VEGA wurde in den USA, Russland, Kuba, Österreich, Großbritannien, Deutschland, Italien, Frankreich, Schweden, der Schweiz, Ungarn, Litauen, der Ukraine, Marokko und Spanien aufgeführt.

Zu den Interpreten seiner Werke zählen Horacio Lavandera, María José Montiel, Iván Martín, Joshard Daus, Agata Daraskaite, Lola Casariego, Luis Miguel Méndez, Lucas Macías, Natalia Troshina, Valeria Zorina, Manuel Burgueras, Aurelio Viribay: andere Interpreten seiner Werke sind Institutionen wie EuropaChorAkademie, St. Christopher Chamber Orchestra, Choir and Orchestra of the Opera of Kiev, Harper Symphony Orchestra, Giusto Chamber Orchestra, Orquesta Oviedo Filarmonía, Orquesta Ars Mundi, JOSPA Joven Orquesta del Principado de Asturias–, Janus Orchestra, Cuarteto Vocal Español del Coro de RTVE, Cuarteto Vocal Cavatina, Psappha Ensemble, Quatuor Danel, Khorikos – NY, Banda de Música „Ciudad de Oviedo“, Coro El León de Oro, Landarbaso Koroa, Ad Solem Kammerensemble, Coro de la Fundación „Princesa de Asturias“, Coro „Ángel Barja“, Escolanía de Covadonga, Camerata Coral de la Universidad de Cantabria, Coro Universitario de Oviedo, etc. Neulich hat er unter anderem Musik zu Originaltexten von Graciano García, José Antonio Olivar, María Teresa Álvarez, Maxi Rodríguez und Xuan Bello geschaffen.

2012 gewinnt Martinez den «1. Nationalen Wettbewerb für Junge Komponisten Stadt Oviedo». Das Siegerstück Rapsodia para violín y orquesta „Der Wanderer über dem Nebelmeer“ wurde 2014 vom Geiger Gerard Claret uraufgeführt. Ebenso ist das Werk bei Durand, salabert, Eschig und Ricordi (Universal Music) erschienen.

Zu seinen jüngsten Uraufführungen zählte die Präsentation seines Werkes Zarzuela „Maharajá“, das im Rahmen der Gedenkfeier zum 125-jährigen Bestehen des Teatro Campoamor–Oviedo (Spanien) in Auftrag gegeben und uraufgeführt wurde. Dieses lyrisch-dramatische Werk mit Libretto von Maxi Rodríguez ist in einem Akt geschrieben und hat eine Dauer von ungefähr 100 Minuten. Die Uraufführung fand im Juni 2017 im Teatro Campoamor von Oviedo statt. Die Zarzuela „Maharajá“ wurde uraufgeführt von der Sopranistin Beatríz Díaz, dem Bariton David Menéndez, der Mezzosopranistin María José Suárez, den Tenören Francisco Javier Sánchez und Juan Noval Moro, dem Schauspielerin Martina Bueno, die Schauspieler Win Marrot, Roca Suárez, Carlos Mesa und Antón Camaño, der Chor „Capilla Polifónica – Ciudad de Oviedo“ und das Orchester „Oviedo Filarmonía“, alle unter der Leitung des Maestro Marzio Conti.

Martínez studierte Orgel und Komposition am Conservatorio Superior de Música „Eduardo Mtez. Torner“ aus Oviedo (Spanien) mit den Meistern Antonio Corveiras bzw. Victor Leoncio Diéguez. Später erwarb er einen Master of Music in Komposition mit Auszeichnung an der University of Manchester in der Klasse von Dr. Richard Whalley (2010). Er nahm als Gaststudent an der Meisterklasse für Komposition am Northern Royal College of Music (2011) bei dem Komponisten Brian Ferneyhough teil. Martínez wurde auch zum Meisterkurs für Komposition und Musikpädagogik von Alberto Grau und Maria Guinand (Venezuelas „El Sistema“) an die Bremer Hochschule eingeladen (2010).

Neben seiner Karriere als Komponist hat Martínez eine aktive Karriere als Organist und Kantor entwickelt. Er ist seit 2000 Mitglied der EuropaChorAkademie, einer Gruppe, die an den wichtigsten Veranstaltungsorten der USA, Chinas und Europas unter der Leitung von Persönlichkeiten wie Michael Gielen, Krzysztof Penderecki, Sylvain Cambreling, Vladimir Ashkenazy, Vladimir Jurowski und Placido Domingo auftrat. Darüber hinaus hat er als Mitglied des Coro El León de Oro neben vielen anderen nationalen und internationalen Auszeichnungen zwei nationale Grand Prix (2003, 2006) gewonnen.

Martínez ist der Organist der Kathedrale von Oviedo, gibt zahlreiche Konzerte in Europa und arbeitet mit mehreren Orchestern zusammen (darunter eine CD für Warner Classics von Saint-Saëns’ Symphony The Organ). Als Organist hat er an Kursen bei den Meistern Andrés Cea und Jean Claude Zendher teilgenommen.

2009 erhielt Martínez das Stipendium Cajastur für Künstler zur Unterstützung seines Masters in Komposition. 2011 wurde er für seine Fantasie für Sopran und Orchester „Monumentum pro mathematica“ mit dem Premios de la Crítica TPA als bester Komponist des Jahres ausgezeichnet. Dieses Werk wurde anlässlich des 100-jährigen Bestehens der Institution von der Real Sociedad Matemática Española in Auftrag gegeben, uraufgeführt und aufgenommen. 2012 gewann Martínez mit seinem Stück „Der Wanderer Über dem Nebelmeer“ den Ersten Nationalen Wettbewerb junger Komponisten der Stadt Oviedo. Sein Chorwerk „No llores, paloma mía“ wurde 2014 beim Ortus International New Music Competition, New York, ausgezeichnet. Schließlich ist der Komponist Mitglied des Honorary Advisory Board des International Institute for Music Education of Hong Kong seit 2015.

Guillermo Martínez hat zahlreiche Veröffentlichungen, darunter notierte Musik, sowie CD- und DVD-Material. Seine Arbeit wurde in Radio und Fernsehen in ganz Amerika und Europa ausgestrahlt.

Guillermo Martínez Vega