Artist Management and Concert Promotion


Chamber Orchestra

27 November 1945, 5:30 pm: the Teatro Nuovo of Milano hosts the debut of I Pomeriggi Musicali Orchestra. On schedule are Mozart and Beethoven alongside Stravinsky and Prokof’ev. In the immediate post-war years, in a period of intense economic reconstruction, theatre manager Remigio Paone and music critic Ferdinando Ballo stage an extraordinarily modern project: to provide the city of Milan with a chamber orchestra offering a solid classic repertoire and a specific contemporary flair. The project is an immediate success and the orchestra contributes remarkably to the diffusion of the music of great 20th century artists banned during fascism: Stravinskij, Hindemith, Webern, Berg, Poulenc, Honegger, Copland, Yves, Françaix.

I Pomeriggi Musicali also tenaciously promote a music commission activity. The orchestra is the recipient of compositions by Casella, Dallapiccola, Ghedini, Malipiero, Pizzetti. Further highlighting the focus of the musical program are the relationships created with the new generation of composers: Berio, Bussotti, Luciano Chailly, Clementi, Donatoni, Hazon, Maderna, Mannino, Manzoni, Margola, Pennisi, Testi, Tutino, Panni, Fedele, Francesconi, Vacchi.

Today, I Pomeriggi Musicali orchestra count on an extremely broad repertoire encompassing Baroque, Classicism and early Romanticism masterpieces, along with a wide choice of modern and contemporary music. Composers like Honegger, Hindemith, Pizzetti, Dallapiccola, Petrassi, and Penderecki have directed their own music from the podium of I Pomeriggi Musicali, which becomes a launching pad toward celebrity for many young artists. This was the case for Claudio Abbado, Leonard Bernstein, Rudolf Buchbinder, Pierre Boulez, Michele Campanella, Giuliano Carmignola, Aldo Ceccato, Sergiu Celibidache, Riccardo Chailly, Daniele Gatti, Gianandrea Gavazzeni, Carlo Maria Giulini, Vittorio Gui, Natalia Gutman, Angela Hewitt, Leonidas Kavakos, Alexander Lonquich, Alexander Igor Markevitch, Zubin Mehta, Carl Melles, Riccardo Muti, Hermann Scherchen, Thomas Schippers, Christian Thielemann, Salvatore Accardo, Antonio Ballista, Arturo Benedetti Michelangeli, Bruno Canino, Dino Ciani, Severino Gazzelloni, Franco Gulli, Nikita Magaloff, Nathan Milstein, Massimo Quarta, Maurizio Pollini, Corrado Rovaris, and Uto Ughi.

We may recall the first among the Chief Conductors of the Orchestra, Nino Sanzogno, followed by Gianluigi Gelmetti, Giampiero Taverna e Othmar Maga, up to Milanese Daniele Gatti, Aldo Ceccato, and Antonello Manacorda. In some cases, an art director flanked the music director and this post was held by Italo Gomez, Carlo Majer, Marcello Panni, Marco Tutino, Gianni Tangucci, Ivan Fedele, Massimo Collarini and, since July 2013, by Maurizio Salerno. I Pomeriggi Musicali Orchestra perform primarily in Milan and around Lombardy, while in autumn they contribute to the opera season for the theatres of Bergamo, Brescia, Como, Cremona, Mantova, Pavia, and to the ballet season of Teatro alla Scala. Often a guest of the principal Italian symphonic seasons, the Orchestra also attends the major European concert halls.

I Pomeriggi Musicali Orchestra is a Foundation established by the Lombardy Regional Government, the Municipality of Milan, the Province of Milan, along with private companies, recognized by the Italian Government as a concert-orchestra institute, and as the primary body of musical production by the Lombardy Regional Government.

The seat of I Pomeriggi Musicali Orchestra is the historic Teatro Dal Verme, in the heart of Milan.

I Pomeriggi Musicali