Artist Management and Administration of Concert Events

JOANNA KAMENARSKA

Violinist

Joanna Kamenarska was born in Sofia, Bulgaria. She first studied with Prof. Josif Radionov in Sofia and continued her studies in 1995 with Prof. Ruggiero Ricci and Prof. Igor Ozim at the Mozarteum in Salzburg. During this time, she also attended the master classes of Igor Oistrach, Leonidas Kavakos, György Kurtág and Shmuel Ashkenasi. She has been awarded numerous prizes at international competitions since the age of ten, including the third prize of the International Mozart Competition Salzburg in January, 2002. She was also semifinalist in the Queen Elizabeth International Competition and the Sibelius Competition 2005.

Joanna Kamenarska gave concerts concerts in Asia and South America and in Europe she performed in the Laeiszhalle and Elbphilharmonie Hamburg, inConcertgebouw Amsterdam, Schauspielhaus Berlin, Mozarteum Grosser Saal, Grosse Aula of the University of Salzburg, Brucknerhaus Linz, Gasteig Munich, Tonhalle Zurich, Schwetzingen Theater, Theater an der Wien, Liederhalle Stuttgart, Cadogan Hall London, Bulgaria Hall Sofia.

She has been the featured soloist with many orchestras including the Berlin Symphony Orchestra, Berlin Radio Orchestra, Nuremberg Symphony, Mozarteum Orchestra of Salzburg, Mozart Chamber Orchestra, Salzburg Soloists, Chamber Orchestra CIS, L ́Orchestre Royal de Chambre de Wallonie, Philharmonisches Staatsorchester Hamburg, Hamburg Camerata, Hamburger Symphoniker, Polen Chamber Philharmonic, Philharmonic Orchestra Györ, Kodaly Philharmonic Debrecen, TOHO Symphony orchestra, Japan, as well as symphony orchestras in her country in Sofia, Rousse, Varna and many others.

Her solo repertoire ranges from the baroque to the contemporary music and includes the great romantic concerts by Mendelssohn, Bruch, Tschaikowski, Korngold and Ligeti. She has collaborated with Paul Goodwin, Dennis Russell-Davies, Ljubka Biaggioni and Pierre Boulez.

She receives invitations regularly to participate in numerous festivals and concert series like the Festival di Pasqua and Nuovi Spazi Musicali of Rome, Festival Santa Christina in Spain, Aspekte New Music Festival, Salzburg, European Music Festival in Lisbon, Salzburg Cultural Days, Apollonia Festival of Arts, Sozopol, Bulgaria, International Mozarteum Foundation, Salzburg, Mozart Festival, Schwetzingen, Bachgesellschaft, Salzburg, and Mozartfest in Chieti.

As a long-time resident of Salzburg by choice and winner of the Mozart Competition, Joanna Kamenarska is particularly familiar with the works by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart and she has performed all of his violin concertos several times.

As a chamber musician, Joanna Kamenarska performed concerts not only as a violinist in the repertoire from Viennese classical to the contemporary music, but also as a baroque violinist and violist. Her experience with the baroque violin spanned numerous concerts, including a solo recital at the Salzburg Bach Society, most recently with the motto "Bach and his predecessors" in which she performed solo sonatas by Pisendel, Biber, Westhoff and Bach's Chaconne, as well as the performance the Biber's Rosary Sonatas with the necessary scordatura. Cooperation with the Ensemble Hamburger Ratsmusik - the gambist Simone Eckert and the harpsichordist Michael Fuerst, Reinhard Goebel and some performances as concertmaster under the direction of Alessandro de Marchi at the Hamburg State Opera, mark stations on this special branch of her artistic development.

She has been collaborating for many years with the Swedish pianist Per Rundberg. They encompass a vast repertoire, which is extending from music of the 15. century up to Avantgarde and new music. The duo made use of a considerable repertoire, had premiered several pieces and performed at several festivals from 2002 to 2010. Together, they realized several recordings for Hessischer Rundfunk, ORF, Bulgarian National Radio and Television and Swedish Radio.

She has performed with artists like Simone Young, Karl Leister, Alois Brandhofer, Hermann Baumann, Radovan Vlatkovic, Michael Martin Kofler, Benjamin Schmid, Lars-Anders Tomter, Quirine Viersen, Vladimir Mendelssohn, Sofia-Quartett, Voces-Quartett, Joachim Held, Reinhard Goebel, Emma KIrkby, Roland Greutter, Sofia Quartett. Since then she has been the first violin of Faust Quartett Basel on a project basis. From 2004–2007, she was Primaria of the Mozart Quartet Salzburg and 2006 she performed all of Mozart's string quartets for the Mozart Year.

Joanna Kamenarska was contracted as concertmaster with the NDR Symphony Orchestra of Hamburg for the 2007/2008 season. During this time, she won the audition for the second Concertmaster position of Philharmonisches Staatsorchester Hamburg, which she has held since September 2008. She has been regularly invited as a guest concertmaster with the following orchestras: Camerata Salzburg, Stuttgart Chamber Orchestra, WDR Symphony Orchestra Cologne, Deutsche Oper Berlin, Staatstheater Kassel, Hamburger Camerata and Hamburg Symphony Orchestra.

In 2014, a CD was released for the Gega New label in collaboration with Irina Georgieva with works by Fauré, Prokofieff and Wieniawski. In 2018, Urtext Classics released the CD “Landscapes” with works by Schubert and Rautavaara, recorded in Seiji-Ozawa-Hall Tanglewood USA in collaboration with Moisés Fernandes Via.

Joanna Kamenarska played form 2004 to 2013 on a G.B. Guadagnini violin from 1771, made available by the Donald Kahn Trust Foundation and up to now on an instrument by Giovanni Battista Guadagnini ("Ex-Flesh") from 1740 (Parma, loan from private property).


(Photo: Hardy Brackmann)

Joanna Kamenarska

Artist Management and Administration of Concert Events

JOANNA KAMENARSKA

Geigerin

Die Geigerin Joanna Kamenarska, geboren 1978 in Bulgarien, studierte zunächst bei Prof. Josif Radionov in ihrer Heimatstadt Sofia, von 1995 bis 2004 bei Professor Ruggiero Ricci und Professor Igor Ozim am Mozarteum in Salzburg. Wertvolle Anregungen erhielt sie in dieser Zeit auch in Meisterklassen von Igor Oistrach, Leonidas Kavakos, György Kurtág und Shmuel Ashkenasi. Schon in ihren Frühjahren gewann sie mehrere Preise bei internationalen Wettbewerben. Sie war dann 2002 Preisträgerin beim Internationalen Mozart Wettbewerb in Salzburg und 2005 Seimifinalistin beim "Concours Reine Elisabeth" in Brüssel so wie bei der "Sibelius Competition" in Helsinki.

Joanna Kamenarska gibt regelmäßig Konzerte in Europa, Asien, USA und Südamerika und ist u.a. in der Laieszhalle und Elbphilharmonie Hamburg, im Concertgebouw Amsterdam, im Schauspielhaus Berlin, im Großen Saal des Mozarteums Salzburg, im Linzer Brucknerhaus, im Gasteig München, in der Tonhalle Zürich, im Theater Schwetzingen, im Theater an der Wien, in der Liederhalle Stuttgart, im Cadogan Hall London und in der Bulgaria Hall in Sofia aufgetreten.

Als Solistin feierte sie Erfolge mit Orchestern wie dem Philharmonischen Staatsorchester Hamburg, der Hamburger Camerata, den Hamburger Symphonikern, dem Berliner Sinfonie-Orchester, dem Berliner Radioorchester, den Nürnberger Symphonikern, dem Stuttgarter Kammerorchester, dem Orchester des Mozarteums Salzburg, dem Mozart Kammerorchester, den Salzburger Solisten, dem Kammerorchester CIS, Orchestre Royal de Chambre de Wallonie, der Polnischen Kammerphilharmonie, dem Philharmonischen Orchester Györ, Kodaly Philharmonie Debrecen, TOHO Symphonieorchester, Japan sowie in Ihrer Heimat mit den Philharmonien von Sofia, Rousse, Varna u.v.a.

Ihr Solorepertoire reicht vom Barock bis zur Gegenwart und schließt unter anderem die Violinkonzerte von Mendelssohn, Bruch, Tschaikowski, Korngold und Ligeti mit ein. Sie arbeitete u.a. mit Dirigenten wie Paul Goodwin, Dennis Russel-Davies, Ljubka Biaggioni und Pierre Boulez zusammen.

Dazu kommen Einladungen zu zahlreichen Festivals und Konzertreihen wie zum „Festival di Pasqua" und Nuovi Spazi Musicali in Rom, zum Festival Santa Cristina in Spanien, zu den Sofia Music Weeks und Apolonia Sozopol, zum Neue Musik-Festival Aspekte Salzburg, zum European Music Festival Lissabon, zu den Salzburger Kulturtagen, zu den Konzertereihen der Stiftung Mozarteum und der Bachgesellschaft in Salzburg, zum Mozartfest Schwetzingen oder dem Mozartfest Chieti.

Als langjährige Wahl-Salzburgerin und Preisträgerin des Mozartwettbewerbs ist Joanna Kamenarska mit dem Werk von W. A. Mozart besonders vertraut und hat mehrere Male alle seine Violinkonzerte aufgeführt.

Als Kammermusikerin ist Joanna Kamenarska nicht nur als Geigerin im Repertoire von der Wiener Klassik bis zur Moderne, sondern auch als Barockviolinistin und als Bratschistin zu erleben. Ihre Erfahrung mit der Barockvioline umspannt sowohl zahlreiche Konzerte, u.a. Solo-Recital bei der Bachgesellschaft Salzburg, zuletzt mit dem Motto "Bach und seine Vorgänger" in welchem sie Solosonaten von Pisendel, Biber, Westhoff und Bachs Chaconne zur Gehör brachte, als auch die Aufführung der Biber ́schen Rosenkranzsonaten mit der erforderlichen Scordatur. Zusammenarbeit mit dem Ensemble Hamburger Ratsmusik - der Gambistin Simone Eckert und dem Cembalisten Michael Fuerst, Reinhard Goebel und einige Aufführungen als Konzertmeisterin unter dem Dirigat von Alessandro de Marchi an der Staatsoper Hamburg, zeichnen Stationen auf diesem speziellen Zweig ihrer künstlerischen Entfaltung.

Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt ihrer kammermusikalischen Arbeit war die Zusammenarbeit mit dem schwedischen Pianisten Per Rundberg. Das Duo bediente sich eines beachtlichen Repertoires, hatte einige Stücke uraufgeführt und war von 2002 bis 2010 bei mehreren Festivals aufgetreten. Zusammen realisierten sie mehrere Aufnahmen für den Hessischen Rundfunk, den ORF, das Bulgarische Nationalradio und Fernsehen und den Schwedischen Rundfunk. Kammermusikalisch arbeitete sie u.a. mit Künstlern wie Simone Young, Karl Leister, Alois Brandhofer, Hermann Baumann, Radovan Vlatkovic, Michael Martin Kofler, Benjamin Schmid, Lars-Anders Tomter, Quirine Viersen, Vladimir Mendelssohn, Tamar Inbar und Roland Greutter zusammen. Die Kooperation mit diversen Ensembles führte zur Übername der Funktion als Primaria des Faust Quartettes Basel. Von 2004 bis 2007 war sie auch Primaria des Mozart Quartetts Salzburg, mit dem sie zum Mozartjahr 2006 sämtliche Streichquartette von Mozart aufführte.

  In der Saison 2007/08 war Joanna Kamenarska als 2. Konzertmeisterin des NDR Sinfonieorchesters Hamburg tätig. Während dieser Zeit gewann sie das Probespiel für die Konzertmeisterstelle beim Philharmonischen Staatsorchester Hamburg, welche sie seit September 2008 innehat. Als Gastkonzertmeisterin war sie in einer Reihe renommierter Orchester tätig und wurde u.a. von Camerata Salzburg, Stuttgarter Kammerorchester, WDR Sinfonieorchester Köln, Deutsche Oper Berlin, Staatstheater Kassel, Hamburger Camerata und Hamburger Symphonikern eingeladen.

Für das Label Gega New wurde 2014 eine CD in Zusammenarbeit mit Irina Georgieva mit Werken von Fauré, Prokofieff und Wieniawski veröffentlicht. Für Urtext Classics erschien dann 2018 die CD „Landscapes“ mit Werken von Schubert und Rautavaara, aufgenommen in Seiji-Ozawa-Hall Tanglewood USA in Zusammenarbeit mit Moisés Fernandes Via.

Joanna Kamenarska spielte von 2004-2013 auf einer G.B. Guadagnini-Violine aus dem Jahr 1771, zur Verfügung gestellt von Donald Kahn-Trust Foundation und dann bis heite auf einem Instrument von Giovanni Battista Guadagnini („Ex-Flesh“) aus dem Jahr 1740 (Parma, Leihgabe aus privatem Besitz).


(Photo: Hardy Brackmann)

Joanna Kamenarska